‘Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.’ – Cicero

Today, I am thankful.

I am thankful for all of the good in my life, as well as the bad…the negative, the hurt, the sadness, and the unknown. Maybe this sounds strange, to some. But when you think about it, life is the entirety of experience–not exclusively the good, the happy, the beautiful, the understandable.

Sadness is part of compassion and love, of being open…of not being afraid to feel…anything…everything…not shutting down, or shutting out. Sadness is vulnerability.

This is a powerful thought.

A difficult one.

Over the years, I have worked to cultivate a practice of mindful acceptance concerning the negative (and the unknown), with as much grace and attachment as I do pleasure and happiness. It hasn’t been easy, I fail more than I succeed but there is also learning in failure…truthfully, it is this process that gives the suffering value.

Why?

Because it enables me to feel whole, which in turn allows me to be a better friend, lover, and person…and ultimately this belief brings me a sense of peace…through all of life’s terror and beauty.

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them. 

– JFK

Gratitude is riches. Complaint is poverty.

-Doris Day

The essence of all beautiful art, all great art, is gratitude.
-Friederich Nietzsche

Two kinds of gratitude: The sudden kind we feel for what we take; the larger kind we feel for what we give.

— Edwin Arlington Robinson

Be Thankful

Be thankful that you don’t already have everything you desire,
If you did, what would there be to look forward to?

Be thankful when you don’t know something
For it gives you the opportunity to learn.

Be thankful for the difficult times.
During those times you grow.

Be thankful for your limitations
Because they give you opportunities for improvement.

Be thankful for each new challenge
Because it will build your strength and character.

Be thankful for your mistakes
They will teach you valuable lessons.

Be thankful when you’re tired and weary
Because it means you’ve made a difference.

It is easy to be thankful for the good things.
A life of rich fulfillment comes to those who are
also thankful for the setbacks.

GRATITUDE can turn a negative into a positive.
Find a way to be thankful for your troubles
and they can become your blessings.

Author Unknown

There are moments in life that are about embracing enjoyment…pleasure, others that ask us to withstand and be strong, and still others that show us the true meaning of compassion…through it all I am finding that the most valuable aspect of these life experiences is maintaining GRATITUDE. I am so very thankful to (and for) the people in my life…

“THANK YOU, your honesty and love is invaluable, your impact immeasurable.”

Our beliefs are transformative…cultivate yours from love.

xxx conchita.

(image by shutterbugbourdoir.com)

7 thoughts on “‘Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.’ – Cicero

  1. Brian says:

    It’s not off topic, because I was referring to the picture of u where u look like you are getting ready for a bodybuilding competition jaja. I was being sarcastic, but I am sorta jealous because you are older than I am and u look shredded!! Nice job whatever u r doing, Dr. C.

  2. Brian says:

    I do p90x almost every morning at 6, but I’m mostly Italian & I have a weakness for chocolate truffles, sorbet & pizza. L & B Spumoni Gardens in Bensonhurst is my favourite! U must have good genetics?

Leave a Reply

