A Goodbye…to Summer

It seems before she came, she went…this summer, as hot as we burned together, her touch is always too fleeting…I hope you had the chance to enjoy a few moments in her golden light. Yes, Winter is coming…with her cold tongue and lashing wind.

Doesn’t sound so bad that way, does it? Oh well, not to me at least! lol…I invite enjoy these last few days of summer, and the lyrical and very well written poem below, xxx c.

 

End of Summer

BY STANLEY KUNITZ

An agitation of the air,

A perturbation of the light
Admonished me the unloved year
Would turn on its hinge that night.
I stood in the disenchanted field
Amid the stubble and the stones,
Amazed, while a small worm lisped to me
The song of my marrow-bones.
Blue poured into summer blue,
A hawk broke from his cloudless tower,
The roof of the silo blazed, and I knew
That part of my life was over.
Already the iron door of the north
Clangs open: birds, leaves, snows
Order their populations forth,
And a cruel wind blows.

Leave a Reply

