A Wonder Woman

“As lovely as Aphrodite, as wise as Athena, stronger than Hercules, swifter than Mercury.”Wonder Woman is.

Who wouldn’t want to be her?

By the age of six I was convinced that this was the ideal woman: strong, protector, intelligent, glamorous, independent. Of course this idea was only reinforced by the fact that I was convinced that my mother actually was Wonder Woman; in fact I don’t recall her telling me otherwise. I watched the TV show, with the lovely Lynda Carter, religiously and would close my eyes while listening to Wonder Woman’s adventures on albums (yes I am THAT old) dreaming of flying through the air in my invisible jet and capturing bad-guys (they usually were men), while wielding my magic lasso.

Today, my idea of a Wonder Woman had changed quite a lot, away from magic bangles and super-amazons, to encompass those of us who struggle on a daily basis to simply “be” whoever and/or whatever it is we want to be. Still, when I look back on the creator’s (a man) original vision for Wonder Woman, I smile:

“Distinctly feminist role model whose mission was to bring the Amazon ideals of love, peace, and sexual equality to a world torn by the hatred of men.” (1941)

because while I think we can all agree that the Wonder Woman we are all familiar with didn’t quite capture those lofty and dramitic goals, these qualities are not much different from those found in the women I most admire today…costume and red boots included! xxx c.

Leave a Reply

