INK: Whose Body, Whose Art?

A tattoo is an affirmation: that this body is yours to have and to enjoy while you’re here. Nobody else can control what you do with it.

DON ED HARDY, Douglas Kent Hall‘s Prison Tattoos


There is this amazing documentary on Ed Hardy and his training, as a fine artist (surprising considering, I know). He is a fascinating and very talented man…and despite his mainstream success, he is truly an outlaw at heart. This documentary tackles the question of tattoos as culture, as rebellion, as expression, as destruction, as statement, as symbol, as high art.
xxx c.

3 thoughts on “INK: Whose Body, Whose Art?

  1. TheOthers1 says:

    Many people think that tattooing ruins natural beauty in a woman. I don’t think it does and happen to be a big fan of tattoos. I think, when done right, tattooing can add something to the beauty of a woman. Perhaps I’m a bit bias though since I have a few tattoos.

    • Charly CONCHITA Carlyle says:

      Yes well I think it’s clear where I stand on the debate…but I would go ohne step further and say, sometimes even the “bad” tattoos are representative of something profound…my first is this squished looking butterfly, but i was 17 and moving 3600 miles away from home for school…it will always remain special to me…thank you for your comment…I am actually LOVING your blog as well xxx

Leave a Reply

