‘A man without tattoos is invisible to the Gods.’ ~Iban Proverb

A tattoo is a true poetic creation, and is always more than meets the eye.  As a tattoo is grounded on living skin, so its essence emotes a poignancy unique to the mortal human condition.  ~V. Vale and Andrea Juno, Modern Primitives

Tattoos fulfill a need to inscribe the self as an individual. ~ MARGO DEMELLO, Bodies of Inscription


 

Today, people with tattoos, body piercings, and brands are everywhere. They are shown in advertisements, on television shows, and in magazine and newspaper photographs. Even a glamorous toy icon, Barbie, comes with temporary tattoos.KATHLYN GAY, Body Marks

A tattoo is an affirmation: that this body is yours to have and to enjoy while you’re here. Nobody else can control what you do with it.DON ED HARDY, Douglas Kent Hall’s Prison Tattoos

My skin is my canvas. The artwork on it represents something that is very powerful and meaningful in my life. I look at my skin as something of a living diary because all my tattoos represent a time in my life. And I never wish to shut the door on the past, so I carry it all with me. ~ Dave Navarro

Doesn’t it just make you want to ink-up?!

Perhaps something fun to do on the long holiday weekend….xxx, c.

3 thoughts on “‘A man without tattoos is invisible to the Gods.’ ~Iban Proverb

Leave a Reply

