The Experience of Pleasure & Pain: A NEW adventure into BDSM

Sadomasochismthe consensual practice wherein pleasure, often sexual but not always, is derived from the giving and/or receiving of pain–in one form or another has always been present in my life (viewing my previous blog posts confirms that assertion)…although it has gone largely unexplored or expressed…until now.

Throughout the end of last year I concentrated mainly on one thing…on training as a:

DOMINATRIX.

Now, at first glance…to those that know me…I know this is not a shock and seems quite fitting when you consider the multitude of erotic projects I have pursued…but to be honest, I am finding this experience to be quite challenging.

Challenging not only due to the the shear art of properly wielding the tools-of-the-trade, but specifically when considering the heavy psychological component of being a responsible Mistress.

Let me be clear, I am not currently living the BDSM Lifestyle, although it holds great appeal…(more about that later)…rather I am working in a very “old-school”  dungeon, meaning they do not sanction any nudity or sex acts. This is a dungeon that caters to classic fetishists. Some are erotic, some are not.

Let me step back for a moment, and catch my breath…a fetish can be understood as anything with one gives excessive devotion. The key being “thing”, part…not the referring devotion to the “whole”. As in, a body part, an article of clothing, a specific part in  role-play. More often than not these fetishes are erotic in nature and their indulgence triggers intense sexual arousal. There are many psychological theories as to the origin of these alternative desires, and even more debate around the labeling those that indulge in these acts as deviant. Indeed the DSM-IV-TR (the psychologist’s bible of diagnosis) classifies individuals’ whose fetishes have negatively impacted their ability to function (socially, occupationally, etc.) as suffering from Paraphiliaa mental illness.

However, as I learn to navigate through the intense world of BDSM…I must acknowledge that there is so much more to these unique experiences. They are layered in meaning…a metaphor for life:

Suffering is the common ground.

Whether we are creating it or enduring it…it is in experience nearly all the same, is it not?

Pain is how we know we are alive…it is the way in which we learn about fear, and if we are patient and brave…how to conquer that fear.

I feel so very honored to be a part of this experience and even more so…to share it here, with you. This particular journey will not a be an easy one and I expect controversy along the way…but I do believe it is worth…the…PAIN.

Until next time…when we step into the dungeon together….xxx c

2 thoughts on “The Experience of Pleasure & Pain: A NEW adventure into BDSM

  1. amyk says:

    I wish we lived closer together!!! I would so love to sit and pick your brain on so many of your blog topics. It’s as though, the surface of my mind (and the physical connection) has barely been scratched and I have a flood of questions ready to flow! I am wishing for a way to explore this world…..one day for sure … until then….your blogs 🙂

Leave a Reply

