Tori Amos: Inspiration through thoughtful reflection

I recall seeing Tori Amos years ago with my best friend live, at Jone’s Beach…an outdoor amphitheater meant for dynamic artists with melodic voices that carry…and touch your heart, in a way that Tori’s always has touched mine.

She performed all of her songs with the accompaniment of her piano, production was minimal and much of her concert had an improvisational feel…many of her songs were unrecognizable until their familiar hook was revealed.

On this particular night a familiar song brought up all too tender emotions: loss, grief, yearning…frustration. I recall grasping my best friend’s hand, tears streaming down my face…music connecting me to feelings I could not yet articulate.

I am always amazed by the raw and intuitive power of artistic expression…and eternally thankful for the artists brave enough to create and share that gift.

Here is the song…and the lyrics…perhaps you will check out some of Tori Amos’ vast body of work or listen to a pieced that similarly effected you…either way, I hope this post inspires you to appreciate an artist that is GREAT, to YOU!

xxx c.

If you don’t treat me better
Baby I’ll just run away
Baby I don’t know what drives you
To play all these silly games
C’mon baby
I’m much stronger than you know
Sometimes
I’m not afraid to let it show

When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But I can take only so much
Cool on your island
Is it cool on your island

I gotta brand new dress babe
Could it make you wanna try
I guess I didn’t want to notice
The stars gone from your eyes
C’mon baby
I’m much stronger than you know
Sometimes
I’m not afraid to let it show

When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But I can take only so much
Cool on your island
Is it cool on your island

We could buy an airplane
Build a home in the sand
You could tell your secrets
I could understand
But then by the morning
Comes crumblin’ down
And as your leavin’
Wait

When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But I can take only so much
Cool on your island
Is it cool, baby
When will you wake up
I want you more than the stars and the sun
But I can take only so much
Cool on your island
You’re so cool on your island
Is it cool on your island
Is it cool baby

If you don’t treat me better
Baby I’ll just run away
Cool on your island
If you don’t treat me
One day you’ll wake up cold
Yeah, then you’ll know
You’ll know
You’ll know
You love me. -Tori Amos, Cool On Your Island

Leave a Reply

